top of page

A Music Guide to Your Next Killer Session

Don’t you hate it when you’re 3 minutes into an interval and you’re already thinking, “In 5 minutes, I’ll only have 12 minutes to go?” This isn’t what you want to be thinking in your next FTP or killer indoor bike session. The purpose of this post is to share with you one aspect that helps me get through an FTP test with only me, myself and I in the room. I respond greatly to external motivation from others, whether, it’s my team mates, coach or boyfriend. Unfortunately, they’re not always available so that is when I turn to MUSIC, sweet music.

I find listening to music helps clear the noise in my head, give me that extra oomph and gets me in the zone to focus on the task at hand. So, listening to music isn’t exactly a new concept right? Somehow, I always seem to draw blanks when it comes time to put on music for a key session. What should I listen to? What has a good beat? NOTHING! *Face palm and turns on the radio*

So I put it out there on Facebook for my friends to help me. I asked them, “Tell me your most motivating song that gets you going while training. I'm putting together a playlist on Spotify to get me through an FTP test tomorrow.” Their response was great (thanks guys!). Take a look:

  • AC/DC – Money Talks

  • Lots of Kings of Leon

  • Limp Bizkit – Rollin’

  • Lots of Foo Fighers

  • Metallica – One

  • Final Countdown – Eye of the Tiger

  • Blink 182 – Feeling This

  • Grinspoon – Champion

  • DJ Dance Mixes of most songs

  • Sia – the greatest

  • Florence and the Machine – Dog Days

  • Rudimental – Not Giving in

  • Desitny’s Child – Survivor

  • Fort Minor – Remember the game

  • ABBA – Dancing Queen

  • Rufus – Like an Animal

  • Sia – Titanium

  • Rage against the Machine – Killing it

  • Footloose

  • Walking on Sunshine

  • Katy Perry – Rise

  • Rachael Platten – Flight Song

  • Art Vs. Science - A.I.M. Fire!

  • ABBA – Waterloo

  • Gangnam Style

  • Deadmau5

  • Kenny Loggins – Playing with the Boys

A few of my favourites from the list were: Fort Minor, Blink 182 and Kings of Leon. I did pick and choose because everyone has different things that gets them going. If you want to check out the playlist I put together with the help from my friends and a few of my personal favourites check out my Spotify playlist “FTP TEST”. You can find it on the link HERE

You’re more than welcome to follow my account and hit PLAY for your next killer session. Happy training and rock on, Ash Hunter


bottom of page